Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carlab44

Organic lawn fertilizer in summer?

carlab44
13 years ago

I'm a complete newbie to healthy (and organic) lawn care so please excuse my novice questions. Our last house had an established lawn that we let go dormant in the summer and did the bare minimum. With two young kids and two dogs we'd like to have a lawn we can play on and doesn't crackle under our feet in the summer.

We moved last year, did a gut and remodel that tore up the lawn, and are now focusing on the yard. We added soil amendment and hydroseeded the yard (approximately 4,000 sq. ft) in the spring and it is doing okay but not great. Some areas are lush, green, and thick. Others are pretty sparse and the grass seems to be struggling.

I'm wondering if we should be doing anything this summer to help it along. In my limited reading it seems that adding organic fertilizer is best to do in the spring and fall? Or could we do an application now? We're fine with just sticking with the mowing and watering through the summer, but if we can get a jump on improving the health of the lawn now, we'd love to.

Also, any recommended reading or websites for someone who is just starting out?

Comments (6)

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

What kind of grass do you have? A cool season grass or a warm season grass?
    All of the cool season grasses, Bluegrass, Fescues etc., tend to want to go dormant in the summer although many water heavily to keep them green. Generally feeding dueing the hot, normally dry summer is not a good idea because that simply adds to the stress the lawn is put undeer in trying to grow when it normally is not. Warm season grasses, Bermuda, St. Augustine, Zoysa, are a bit different.

• leatherneckjoe
    13 years ago

I would agree with the heavy watering. You could also apply some Neptunes Harvest which will feed it but not cause it to stress out by growing a lot.

• dchall_san_antonio
    13 years ago