Return to the Organic Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Where to find CGM and can I use horse feed as a substitute?

Posted by SD_Gator none (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 28, 12 at 16:55

I'm new to organic and am ready to start, but I'm having a really hard time finding sources of CGM or other high-protein grain meals.

I've been to two feed stores, and called around to a few others, and the first question they ask is what is it typically used to feed. I've got no idea...does anyone know the answer to that? Also, one store did have CGM...$39 for a 50 pound bag. That can't be right...

Anyway, one guy told me that horse feed might work. He showed me a 50# bag of horse feed that is 12% protein, and its around $16 per bag. Here is the dietary analysis. He said it has oats and grains and some molasses and calcium. Along with a bunch of vitamins.

Is this stuff okay to use? Here's a link to the product:
http://www.accofeeds.com/acco/en/our-products/equine/superior-performer-12-6/index.jsp

Crude Protein Min. 12.0%
Lysine Min. 0.55%
Methionine Min. 0.25%
Threonine Min. 0.45%
Crude Fat Min. 6.0%
Crude Fiber Max. 15.0%
Calcium (Min. 0.8%) Max. 1.1%
Phosphorus Min. 0.7%
Copper Min. 45 PPM
Selenium Min. 0.6 PPM
Zinc Min. 135 PPM
Vitamin A Min. 4,300 IU/lb
Vitamin D Min. 400 IU/lb
Vitamin E Min. 75 IU/lb
Biotin Min. 0.45 MG/lb
Dietary Starch Max. 20.0%

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Where to find CGM and can I use horse feed as a substitute?

Even though Corn Gluten Meal is a byproduct of the industry it is not inexpensive and that price is at the low end of what I have found. CGM is most often used by gardeners as a pre emergent "weed" control even though it does provide nutrients.
What does your soil need?
Have you had a good, reliable soil test done?
What is your soils pH?
How much organic matter is in your soil?
What kind of life is in that soil?
How well does that soil drain"
How does that soil retain moisture?

o