Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tarheel_fan

New to organics. Please help. Soil test included

tarheel_fan
10 years ago

I'm new to all this but want to go to organics. I am planning on putting alfalfa pellets on my lawn next week for the first time. Any advise on other organics I should be using. I really don't know how to interpret this soil test either other than my ph is ok and I lack in om.

Thanks y'all.

Comments (4)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

Did you sit down with your county horticultural agent to talk about these results?
    Your soils pH is low, optimum for lawns is in the 6.2 to 6.8 range, and your Phosphorus is in the low optimal range.
    What else you may want to know is how much organic matter is in that soil, how well that soil drains, what kind of life is in that soil, etc. and these simple soil tests can be of some help.
    1) Soil test for organic matter. From that soil sample put enough of the rest to make a 4 inch level in a clear 1 quart jar, with a tight fitting lid. Fill that jar with water and replace the lid, tightly. Shake the jar vigorously and then let it stand for 24 hours. Your soil will settle out according to soil particle size and weight. For example, a good loam will have about 1-3/4 inch (about 45%) of sand on the bottom. about 1 inch (about 25%) of silt next, about 1 inch (25%) of clay above that, and about 1/4 inch (about 5%) of organic matter on the top.

2) Drainage. Dig a hole 1 foot square and 1 foot deep and fill that with water. After that water drains away refill the hole with more water and time how long it takes that to drain away. Anything less than 2 hours and your soil drainsâ too quickly and needs more organic matter to slow that drainage down. Anything over 6 hours and the soil drains too slowly and needs lots of organic matter to speed it up.