Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annagater

Gearing up for fall

annagater
13 years ago

Hello Everyone!

So I tried posting yesterday only to find that it didn't work! :( So I'm trying again.

I've been reading this forum a lot and have really been learning quite a bit. Anyways, I'm very new to lawn care. I just learned how to use a lawn mower this summer. We've been in our house 2 years now and our yard was pretty much let go for at least the past 10 years. So the lawn is probably 50% assorted weeds and who knows what kinds of grasses. I've been mulch mowing high, second notch down on my Toro. I don't water, just let nature do it's thing. We had two giant pine trees cut down that were badly damaged over the winter. So now we have two large (approx. 15x15 feet) mulch piles in the two front corners of my yard. Very attractive :)

This is my plan of action:

1. 1st and 2nd week of Aug. - Scrape up mulch, then put down some lime and water to get rid of pine-ness. Start loosening soil with my garden weasel.

2. 3rd week of Aug. - Start going to community compost pile and shoveling as many bins as I can

3. 4th week of Aug. - Buy some top soil and grass seed (KBG mix)

4. 1st week of Sept. - Put down top soil all over and to fill in any larger holes, put down grass seed, then cover lightly with compost. Water daily for what seems like forever until I get some sprouts :)

I also wanted to reseed the existing lawn area at least near the mulch piles since it's kind of sparse and I want to try to blend the new with the old. I have about a 1/3 acre yard so, I can't manage doing the whole thing at once. Baby steps :) I also plan on mulching my leaves into the lawn when they start coming.

Any suggestions/advice on my plan? Please keep in mind I have a VERY limited budget.

Thanks for your help!

Anna

Comments (3)

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

Do you know how much and what kind (Calcitic or Dolomitic) lime to apply?