Return to the Organic Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Organic Bermuda lawn needs helps!

Posted by mscottw2 9 (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 28, 08 at 11:52

I can't figure out what wrongs with my lawn and I was hoping some of you could help shed some light. A couple months ago I got a new mower, so the lawn did get scalped (somewhat.) The problem is, it usually recovers by now, and some spots seem to be getting worse. What do you guys think, I have had a problem with grubs in the past. I fertilized it with alfalfa pellets and cracked corn a couple days before fay came through. (about 10 days ago)

Scalped...Grubs....Fungus? It's also never been aerated, and it's one year old turf from seed (princess.)

I mow at 1", and have not irrigated since June. We've been getting plenty of water lately. Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Organic Bermuda lawn needs helps!

I have no first hand experience with Southern lawns, but from reading here and there, I think your lawn needs fertilizer. Higher protein grains than corn and alfalfa you mentioned would provide more nitrogen. Try monthly applications of SBM. Member OKCdan has a beautiful Bermuda lawn. Hopefully he will chime in with advice for you. Below is a link to his information page.
Bill Hill

Here is a link that might be useful: OKCdan's page

o

I agree, SBM would be a better choice for Bermuda. It has a much higher protein content than alfalfa. Apply it every 45days during the growing season @ 15lbs per 1000sqft. If you want to use Alfalfa you should double or triple the application rate. If it doesnt matter either way I would use Alfalfa for the first feeding, after spring green up @ 30-40lbs per 1000sqft then use SBM for the rest of the growing season.

o

• Posted by okcdan 7 OKC - Bermuda (My Page) on
    Wed, Sep 3, 08 at 13:58