Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slow73

Newbie With Questions

slow73
16 years ago

i am new to organic lawn care and gardening after years of making the scott's co. rich. This forum doesn't have a faq section so i have to post the questions? what are the major difference between cmg, sbm and alfalfa meal? which is better? what about ucg? i just started spreading bags of it on my lawn and have begun watering twice a day for 1 hour. so far can't see much results but still early?

Comments (9)

• skoot_cat
    16 years ago

i just started spreading bags of it on my lawn and have begun watering twice a day for 1 hour.

Thats way too much water. Established lawns should only receive 3/4 to 1" of water per week in summer.

It takes about 3-4 weeks to break down and notice a difference.

Link Below

Here is a link that might be useful: Organic Lawn Care FAQ

• earthworm73
    16 years ago

hey skoot cat gracias on the advice. after work i will go home and adjust the timer on my sprinkler. hey is it possible to lay compost with one of those 'chemical fertilizer spreaders'? or will i have to do it by shovel? same with the corn meals and the like?

• skoot_cat
    16 years ago

hey is it possible to lay compost with one of those 'chemical fertilizer spreaders'?

I dont think so. I spread compost by shovel/hand.

As for all the other grains, I use a scotts broadcast spreader with no problems. When I use CM in the spreader I have to bounce it as I walk along to keep it flowing.