Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aggranduser

Help soil analysis???

aggranduser
10 years ago

Hello, I'm new to the organic lawn care world and this forum. I stopped using chemical fertilizer and Par 3. 6 years ago when my 7 year old son was diagnosed with Leukemia. He has been off treatment for almost 2 years now and doing very well.
For the last 6 years I haven't done anything to the lawn but cut and water it.
This year I got a soil analysis and started fertilizing once a month with fish emulsion and kelp. Still the grass doesn't seem to want to grow, but the dandilions certainly do. The PH was 7.8 the organic content was on the high side, mag. was high as well. I put down 200 pounds of calcium and 150 lbs of sulpher on 30,000 sq. ft. to bring down the ph and loosen the soil in mid June and along with the monthly fertilizing it still isn't growing well. Any suggestions? Sorry for the long post.

Thanks

Comments (6)

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    10 years ago

Without seeing the exact contents of the test, it's hard to say. I personally prefer UMass or Logan Labs soil tests as many others are difficult to work with even having the whole test. Some tests simply don't include enough information.

Good on you for having high organic content! That alone can help mitigate a ton of other problems.

With that pH, I'm not sure you needed the calcium, but it does depend on the form you used. Calcium carbonate or calcium oxide might be a problem, calcium sulfate (gypsum) would not (but contrary to popular opinion it only loosens up a few very specific type of soils).

Let us know how the sulfur works. Surface-applied sulfur doesn't have a good rep as it tends to out-gas and get lost, but maybe it'll help you out.