Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ricka23_gw

Organic Fertilizer except Fall Application

ricka23
13 years ago

Hi,

I've been applying organic fertilizer for the last 2 years or so. I notice that some here do organic except for their fall application. What is the reasoning behind that?

Thank you.

Comments (9)

• bpgreen
    13 years ago

There has been some recent research that supports applying fast release high nitrogen fertilizer after the top growth has stopped, but while the grass is still green. Organic fertilizers require microbial activity to make the nitrogen available for the plants to use. This is a comparatively slow process and also only works if the soil is warm enough to support the microbial activity. For that late fall application, the soil is probably too cool, so people who want that boost use synthetics.

• Kimmsr
    13 years ago

Probably due to misunderstanding soils. There seem to be some people thoroughly convinced that all soil bacterial activity stops after the first frost when reality is that it takes quite some time for the soil to cool down enough for that to happen. Around here, West Central Michigan, soil bacterial activity does not begin to slow down until late October, to maybe mid November.
    I have seen great changes in grass growth after mulch mowing the tree leaves into the soil, and I have seen the earthworms work into the soil mulched, shredded leaves 3 inches thick before the snow flies.

• ricka23
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I'm in West Michigan and it's been relatively warm so maybe I'll go with the organic.

Thanks for the response.

• bpgreen
    13 years ago