Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rutgers1_gw

Going to start brewing my first compost tea tomorrow!

rutgers1
16 years ago

I have a few buckets of vermicompst (worm) that I made with my class (I am an elementary school teacher). We are going to start bubbling it tomorrow. The plan is to spray it on the gardens at school, but I would also like to take some home for my own lawn.

Any tips? For those who have used it, do you notice differences in the lawn in the short-term, or is this a long-term "soil health" thing? When should I spray it in relation to my fertilizer applications (before, after, same time)? Can it help break down the organic fertilizer if I spray it later in the season (October, November) since most here say that there aren't many microbes in the soil at that time?

Thanks!

Comments (6)

• skoot_cat
    16 years ago

Thats awsome! are the kids into it?

Heres an idea/experiment the kids would probably enjoy. Before brewing the tea take a sample and view it under a microscope. Take another during the brewing process and view. Then one when its finished and view. Hopefully the end results will be higher numbers of microbes after it is finished brewing.

back to your questions:

If your using Organic Ferts, which Im sure your are. Any time is a good time. I prefer the cooler evenings when using compost tea. I feel it gives the microbes a fighting chance before the sun dries them out. Irrigate in after you spray with 1/2" water. Be sure to use un-chlorinated water when spraying and irrigating.

Theres still plenty of microbes in the soil during the winter. Their just not as active.

• eastpenna
    16 years ago

skoot cat,

I prefer the cooler evenings when using compost tea. I feel it gives the microbes a fighting chance before the sun dries them out. Irrigate in after you spray with 1/2" water.