Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oh_julie

newbie - plan for sick lawn in dayton, oh

oh_julie
15 years ago

Hello everyone, newbie here. New to gardening, new to organic, and new to the forum - God help me. ;)

I am going to 'fire' my chemical lawn people Monday and go organic now. I've read a lot of info here incl. the organic lawn faq. I'm just not clear on my plan of attack since it's getting late in the year and I would love to do an overseeding (of rye?) for my thin, unhealthy lawn (not sure what it is, fescue/bermuda mix??)

I am in the Dayton, Ohio area and have heavy, compacted clay soil. I was going to get it core aerated as every good Ohioan does ;) but if I'm understanding things correctly I can now bypass that, yes?

I have some kind of issue in my lawn that started this summer and appears to have stopped spreading since about the time fall hit. It turned the grass (mostly around my trees) a reddish-orange color before turning yellow/brown and dying and was spreading out from the edges only in the affected areas. Sounds like a fungus I guess, yet I do the proper watering a.m. only/1-2 hrs though admitedly probably not frequent enough.

I need to do an overseeding everywhere with focus on those dead spots. Is it too late? My neighbor said if I use perennial rye I'll be fine if I do it soon.

Would pix be helpful or are they irrelevent to what I must do? Your two cents on my plan of attack? Is my est. list below even vaguely correct? ;)

skip mechanical aeration forever

compost (delivered from a landscape place?)

alfalfa and/or soybean stuff

overseed within 2 wks

lots of water

p.s. I'm not the kind of person that demands a perfect, ideal lawn. I just want it to be healthy.

Comments (26)

• oh_julie
    Original Author
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

corrections/additions

my grass: I think my back lawn is primarily a fescue. The front is part fescue but also has a heavy mix of something that is finer and doesn't tolerate heat at all.