Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cptk1

Why Would Anyone Use a Non-spreading Grass?

CPTK
10 years ago

It seems to me that the ability to spread and fill in bare spots is such an evolutionary advantage that it trumps everything else. Yeah, TF has a lot of advantages, especially where I live, but having to reseed every time there is a bare spot is sort of a deal breaker for me. It's especially the case when you're going organic because your anti-weed options are pretty limited.

Okay, so what's the point of this post? Well, I'm no expert so sometimes I like to run my thoughts by people who are. I'm guessing some (or most) of you will disagree, so I want to see what considerations I'm missing.

Comments (6)

• sc77 (6b MA)
    10 years ago

The vast majority of home owners use a mix of seed types to accommodate environmental factors and specific objectives they want to achieve in their lawn care/usage. Also, monoculture (one grass species) is not recommended, as a disease or insect infestation could wipe out your entire lawn. Spreading (rhizomes) type grass are not always the correct choice for home owners. For example, if you have a high traffic area of your yard, you will probably want to go heavy perennial ryegrass. Heavy shade, that's going to require a fescue mix.

KBG is the dominant spreading grass and with the exception of a few new cultivars, it generally has shallow roots and poor nutrient absorption, which means it is expensive to keep green. Lots of water and fertilizer and sun, which not every property or budget can provide. The idea is to get a nice mix of seed types that achieve all of your goals. If you have full sun, high budget, and irrigation system to maintain a full KBG lawn, then go for it. However, there are trade offs. The extra time you spent watering and fertilizing, the fescue owner will have to spend overseeding.

• keeval
    10 years ago

SC77, I wish there was a "like" button for your post!