Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dasheriprock

Bumpy Soil/Grass

dasheriprock
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to this whole idea of organic law care. I just moved into a new house in July and, I must say, the grass looks fantastic (through no effort of my own). The house has great shade and we had nice rain this year, so I suspect that has a lot to do with it.

I have a section of grass that just seems much different from the rest. It's bumpy and a little harder. Small bumps though. When I mow the lawn, it kinda has the same feel as when you drive down a road with a lot of small bumps. I wouldn't say it looks (from 20 feet away), much different but I tend to notice it more because that's where our swingset is located.

It's not a huge deal I guess, but I'd like to make it like the rest of the lawn. Is there anything I can do to improve the soil?

Comments (2)

• Kimmsr
    12 years ago

There are several ways to level a lawn, all of which require much work, time, and energy.
    The first way is to till that section and level it and then reseed or sod the area. Probably the best way but certaainly the one requiring the most work as well as the most time.
    The second would be to bring in some soil and carefully rake it over what is there to even things out. This is not always the most effective method and, depending on the depth of some of the depressions, could kill the grass that is there now.
    A third method is to make X's in both the high points and low points and remove some soil from the high points and use that to fill in the low points. A lot of work and much less expensive then the others since the only cost is your labor.

• dchall_san_antonio
    12 years ago