Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
royalinput

How do I fix my lawn

royalinput
16 years ago

I live in Republic MO. I just moved in to a house with a lawn. I'm new to the lawn care. I would like to know what I need to start with? I know I have some crabgrass. I don't know anything else about grass. What kind do I need to plant? I really don't want to have to use one of those lawn companies. Coast too much for what they do. I heard of something called Amazoy, What do you all think?

Comments (7)

• cherig22
    16 years ago

First, find out what kind of lawn you have, take samples to a good nursery. And weeds as well!

Our Ace in FL had a great nursery crew, lots of knowledge. My DH knows more about lawns in FL, but most nurserys will have a monthly chart of what to do to you yard for any particular month.

A good lawn program will pay for itself in beauty and health, but it will take time. I haven't even worried about my lawn until now, cause I own it, lol. Finally!

Cheri, who will be interested in this thread for sure

• ceresone
    16 years ago

AND, be sure it IS crabgrass, I tried to get rid of my "crabgrass" for a few years, then I found it was Bermuda Grass--the grass from hell, for gardeners.
    When I owned property across the road, I planted Bluegrass, its still beautiful and thick.-and as a aside, be careful of any grass they tell you that is spreading.(on its own)

• gldno1
    16 years ago

I am not a lawn gardener and it shows. If it grows, I mow it.
    Sad, but true.

• oakleif
    16 years ago

You might try your local county extension agent too and he will probably have liturature for your area also.

• christie_sw_mo
    16 years ago