Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joannedisfan

New to vegetable gardening

joannedisfan
15 years ago

I'm starting my first vegetable garden and am in the planning and building stage. I have a wet back yard so have chosen to build raised beds. I'm building 3 beds, 2 will be 4 ft by 8ft and the third will be 32 ft and only 1 ft wide along a fence, so I can trellis plants.

I'm planning on planting beans, peas, zucchini, cucumber, tomatoes, potatoes, sweet potatoes, spinach, lettuce, radishes, carrots, beets, onions, strawberries and various different herbs.

I live in Bentonville, AR. I'm not sure when i should start planting the plants. Some seeds refer to dates from frost but others refer to soil temperatures. Do i need to get a thermometer to track soil temps or can i get a general idea from outside temps.

As i said I'm totally new to gardening, but I'm looking forward to tasting the results.

Joanne

Comments (12)

• gldno1
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome Joanne. I will let our Arkansas gardeners answer you here. I know you must be a zone warmer then me so my dates won't help you much.

Hope you have great success with your first garden.

• helenh
    15 years ago