Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kadasuki

Ice Storm Tree damage survey

kadasuki
15 years ago

Hey Forum,

I'm just beginning to think about planting a new tree for my front yard and wondering what will be nice. We've lost 3 trees in the last 5 years due to our winters. The rapid warm cold cycle during a few days in winter makes it very stressing for so many trees and living in town makes it necessary to be choosy about what to put on lawn.

Driving around and viewing the downed and badly damaged trees between Bella Vista and Fayetteville makes me wonder if there are any types of trees that can withstand such a storm better than other types. I noticed hollys, cypress,with no damage. What has everyone else observed? It will be interesting to see what everyone has witnessed at their home locations.

I hate to plant another expensive tree just to have it die. So this time, I'll be careful to find a tree that can take our weird Ozark winters, summer droughts and heat, and city conditions/ restrictions.

KK

Comments (8)

• helenh
    15 years ago

I know some trees not to plant to avoid ice storm damage You have to prune a young tree every year for a while to make sure you don't have main branches at steep angles. Bradford pear, silver maple and sycamore are very bad about snapped branches. Here is a link. Scroll to the bottom. On the resistant list are some that are not good to have in your yard. Sweet gum has those seed balls, walnut has walnuts and messy leaf stalks, catalpa has messy flowers. I don't know about the others. It is interesting that one linden is on the bad list and two others are on the resistant list. Ginkgo is a very interesting tree. Science teachers may visit you if you plant that. I hope others may have suggestions.

Here is a link that might be useful: list from the NE

• ceresone
    15 years ago

My favorite tree is the Pin Oak.

• gldno1
    15 years ago