Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gldno1

My first outside Gardening

gldno1
13 years ago

I began cleaning off the kitchen garden yesterday afternoon. It was a great day for that. I am too lazy to do it in the fall then I have to get really busy in the Spring.

I pulled all the vines off the garden fence and cleaned dead things off about half the area. I may burn most of it today and spread the ashes around.

The row of garlic looks good but needs hoeing today.

Do any of you do veggie gardens?

Comments (14)

• taz6122
    13 years ago

I have a row of garlic as well. It's my first time growing garlic. Do you need to loosen the ground around it?
    I also have artichokes, celery, cauliflower, rutabagas, turnips, spinach mustard and 3 kinds of lettuce planted and have seeds for brussel sprouts and several kinds of tomatoes just waiting for the right time.

• taz6122
    13 years ago

Oops I forgot jalapeno and tabasco peppers and just thought you're probably hoeing the chickweed and hensbit!

• gldno1
    Original Author
    13 years ago

taz, how did you guess! I have never seen henbit this bad!At least I saw some honeybees on it today.

In fact, that is why I hoed the row of garlic to get the henbit and some other tiny little blue flowered weed out of the row. If the soil is compacted it wouldn't hurt to hoe it.
    Mine is looking pretty good.

That is all I have in. It is way too early for me. The last of March will be my earliest seeding and planting.

Today I tilled the east end of the kitchen garden.
    I don't plant warm season things until mid-May.

It was another beautiful day.

You can see the garlic row off to the left of the hoop frame.

• taz6122
    13 years ago

I've got it bad too. If it weren't for the henbit and chickweed there wouldn't be anything green in my yard. lol!

Check out this page I just found on chickweed uses.

• helenh
    13 years ago