Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brandles_gw

Planning a partial shade garden

brandles
14 years ago

Hi,

I am a novice when it comes to gardening. It has been a dream of mine to have a beautiful garden since I was a little girl. Now I am all grown up and own a home and want to plan a "secret garden" for my daughter who is 4. I hope to inspire the same feelings I have for flowers in her.

While I have these great aspirations I realize that I need to be practical in my plant choices. We have a busy lifestyle and the garden may be neglected at times. With that in mind, as well as my desire to conserve the environment, what plants do you recommend for our garden?

The following is a list of some of my favorite flowers/plants. Are they viable choices?

Peony

Hasta

Rose

Iris

Geranium

Lily

Hydrangea

Daisy

By the way, the area I have in mind for the garden is on the northwest side of my house. It gets a lot of shade from the shadow of the house in the morning and the shadow of the fence in the evening. I realize I will have to choose plants that can tolerate a lot of shade.

Thank you, I'm looking forward to your input. :)

Comments (18)

• gldno1
    14 years ago

Full sun can be considered as at least 6 hours per day. If you plant out from the house some, maybe you can get that. I would watch the sun to decide how much sun you are getting in different spots.

Hydrangea and hosta will do great in shade. The rest should get the 6 hours to flower well.

Google shade plants and you will find lots, you also might search for partial shade plants.

Good luck.

• christie_sw_mo
    14 years ago

Welcome Brandles! You sound like a nice mom. I think the book "The Secret Garden" has inspired many people over the years, including me. I loved that book. My kids have seen the movie but it doesn't capture the mystery of the garden as well as the book does.