Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quietlife3

Frost tonight?

quietlife3
16 years ago

This is my first time posting on this forum - typically I'm in the kitchens/decor section. I'm really glad to have discovered the ozarks specific section as we are planning our second attempt at a garden in our lovely rock soil. It will be great to learn from those who are planting in the same environment.

My question today is about the potential frost forecast for tonight. I do not know which of my plant/trees I should cover. Last year a late frost all but ruined our plants and I don't want that to happen again. My main concern is about my roses and fruit trees. Should they be covered? What about peonies? I really appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

Comments (9)

• ceresone
    16 years ago

Quietlife, here, we had a frost this morning (Monday morning) but, then another expected tonight.
    Last year was a exception, I havent seen a freeze like that, here, in over 50 years.It took out fruit border to border, and I dont mean just Missouri.
    Most flowers that come up and bloom now are expected to be hardy--thats not to say they wont get a setback, they might-you could cover if you wish.
    The fruit trees? if you have a way to cover them, it sure couldnt hurt-I have 14 new ones I set out in April, The other 26 are blooming, have bloomed, or have small fruit. The strawberries I just put out are blooming, but plants should survive-there isnt really a way to protect them. On another forum, a person is trying to run a sprinkler tonight, his understanding is that wet ground under the trees will help.
    I guess what it all boils down to--if you have very much you cant cover--you pray a lot.

• christie_sw_mo
    16 years ago

Welcome Quietlife - glad you found the Ozarks forum.
    It's supposed to be colder tonight than it was last night but last year it got down in the teens and even things that were covered got frozen.