Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
helenh_gw

poke

helenh
10 years ago

I had poke today for lunch it was pretty good; the bacon helped. I have to have poke at least once a year. I drained the first water and rinsed it and then added the cooked bacon and grease. I don't know if that is how you are supposed to do it but my lips didn't itch or feel funny this time.

Comments (5)

• NancyPlants
    10 years ago

I have a confession to make...I've never done anything like this before and am quite hesitant to admit what I'm doing...
    I've been 'taking' poke berries for the past several months. I read about them here...I believe last fall. One of you talked about them as weeds. I did a bit of research online and discovered some people find that they help with some of the health conditions I have. I harvested them in my own yard, dried them and take them daily. I do notice a difference when I skip them for a day or 2.
    If I heard of someone doing something like this I might roll my eyes and think they were silly but I took the plunge and dont seem to have any adverse reactions.
    Helen, glad to hear you didnt have any either :)

• sunnyside1
    10 years ago

I think poke leaves are only toxic when they are large and older. I cooked poke exactly the same, Helen, and I love it.

Never heard of taking poke berries, Nancy -- when do you gather them and do you freeze the berries or just pick them all summer? Are they for energy? Please tell us more. Every summer I have a few young ones around here before I find them and compost them. Maybe I won't be so fast pulling them up. Thanks.
    Sunny

• christie_sw_mo
    10 years ago

It's been years since I've eaten poke and I can't remember if I liked it. Bacon makes almost anything taste good. My attempt awhile back at collard greens with bacon didn't go so well though.