Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie24

perennial afternoon sun plants for novices

newbie24
16 years ago

Sorry if this message has been posted elsewhere on this site. I messed up the first time I sent it. I am, after all, a newbie here.

We want to plant perennials along the front of our house. To keep them safe from territory-marking dogs, we want to put them in large planters. We are not gardeners, know very little about plants but have an idea of what we want.

1) Low maintenance - must be perennials that don't need a lot of care

2) Color - Flowers and shrubery or maybe just flowering shrubs

3) Must like morning shade and full afternoon sun

We have been searching the web and are somewhat overwhelmed.

Does anyone have any ideas, helpful tips or any information at all?

Thanks so much.

Comments (6)

• oakleif
    16 years ago

I'm in the process of transplanting daylilies into large containers. They would do well in your situation but they have a grassy like folage
    that comes up in early spring and flowers in June.
    If kept watered they will stay green all summer and some bloom again in early fall. They come in a varity of sizes and colors. I asked the same question on container gardening forum and perennial forum. you might also try there.

• christie_sw_mo
    16 years ago

Welcome Newbie24!
    Questions - How big will your planters be? How tall would you want the plants to be?