Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tammyj_gw

Passion Flowers

TammyJ
20 years ago

I had a lady come into my office today and ask if she could pick one of my passion flowers. Well I had no idea what she was talking about, until she showed me the plant. I always thought it was a weed. She said the fruits are edible, but mine were overipe. She said they were bitter now. Checking on the web tonight also shows you can make teas out of the plants, and the fruits turned yellowish red when ripe.How do I tell if they are any good or not, and which part of the plant do I use for teas ect. What can I use them for? I think mine would be a "passiflora incarnata". I have no idea how many times I have pulled this stuff off my fences in the past.

Can someone tell me more about this particular plant? As you can tell I am still learning about the "weeds" in my area. Help please. Tammy

Comments (24)

• alicia_247
    20 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Have you checked out the Passiflora forum....
    those are some beautiful flowers~I have been told that they grown crazy..maybe that is how they got their nickname..maypops....pop up here and there and everywhere!!
    Lucky you...people pay big money for those plants around my area!
    :o)

• jaceysgranny
    20 years ago

I didn't realize you could brew tea with them. I had them growing wild when I lived in MS too. Have you ever read the religious connotation of them? Check out this website if you are interested. http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/plantanswers/flowers/passionflr.html

I have what I think are passion flowers popping up in one place on my property. The leaves don't look like the incarnata but like the yellow one, passiflora lutea. If I can get a good picture of the leaf I'm going to post it to Name that Plant. The bugs have been feasting on them so it's hard to get a good pic. They are really beautiful flowers! I looked up passion flowers online today and they sell for $9.95 each! You are lucky ;-)!

Nancy