Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christie_sw_mo

Trying fall radishes

christie_sw_mo
13 years ago

The MU Guide Planting Calendar says to plant radishes August 1st through 20th but it was so hot and dry. I'm going to try planting seeds this weekend and hope they have time to finish. I have seeds for Crimson Giant and Watermelon Radish. It's cold this morning but supposed to be back in the 80's this week so that should be warm enough to germinate right?

This is my first try with radishes so your wisdom is welcome.

Should I try a few in containers or would I have better luck in the ground?

Comments (7)

• helenh
    13 years ago

That is a good idea; I suppose it is too late for lettuce. The rain has renewed my interest in growing something but I haven't forgotten the minidrought. I need to cut back on ornamentals because I have more than I can take care of.

• mulberryknob
    13 years ago

Christie, I planted Daikon and Chinese Red Meat (Is that the same as Watermelon?)last year in early Sept and got a great crop of both before it frosted. Of course I am south of you but both of those were hardy enough to take light frost. I planted both again this year a week ago last Friday along with French Breakfast after that rain and they are all up now.

It may be too late for lettuce where you are but spinach would probably do. I had spinach overwinter--through 2 zero nights--last winter and picked the last of it in April before the spring planted crop came on. Good luck.

• helenh
    12 years ago

I bought winter radish seeds and forgot to plant them; I wonder if it is too late?

• christie_sw_mo
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I hope someone comments. I've only grown radishes once. The ones I planted in a large container sprouted but never grew into radishes. The ones I planted in the ground did much better but some of those disappeared when they were seedlings (maybe slugs), so I ended up with very few.