Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christie_sw_mo

How cold did it get?

christie_sw_mo
13 years ago

I didn't get a chance to check the temp this morning. By the looks of my yard, it definitely got below freezing. My big patch of red zinnias has turned brown. : ( I'll miss those the most and I'm not sure I quit deadheading them soon enough for them to make seeds.

I dashed out right before dark and dug up my lantanas. They're in a box in my garage but I think I'll have to bring them into my basement as it gets colder. I've never tried to winter them over before. I wasn't going to dig up my pentas but felt sorry for them and changed my mind at the last minute. They're in a box in my garage too. I don't even know if it can be wintered over but I was in a hurry so I decided to dig them up and check later.

Comments (18)

• beerhog
    13 years ago

There was frost on my car this morning at 4:30. Got all my potted stuff in. Will have to see what the bananas look like after work today. May just go ahead and start digging them anyways.

• helenh
    13 years ago

Cold enough to make mush of coleus, tomatoes and impatients. Petunias survived as did lettuce and radishes.

• rmactavy
    13 years ago

HARD freeze... 25 degrees!

• gldno1
    13 years ago

It was 27ð here and froze most things. I haven't done the whole tour yet so don't know what survived. I haven't even gone inside the hoop house to check.

• mosswitch
    13 years ago

We were gone this week, down at Roaring River. It got down to 25F there, but when we got home to Joplin it had probably not gotten below 32F as the top leaves of my gourds and some of the top leaves of the elephant ears were frost damaged, but that was all. Impatiens weren't affected at all.

• taz6122
    13 years ago