Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashandri

Fall gardening questions...AR

ashandri
12 years ago

Hi. I am new to gardening and new to Arkansas. I don't know anyone that gardens so I am strugging with having no one to help me with my new hobby:). I am hoping this forum might help! So in August and September, I planted bush beans, sugar snap peas, Kale, chinese cabbage, carrots, and spinach. The bush beans and sugar snap peas have done great, but I'm struggling with the others. Here are my questions:

1. Cabbage slugs ate lots of my kale leaves. I have gotten rid of the slugs mostly, but now the kale leaves are not growing? What can I do?

2. My chinese cabbage seems to be growing outwards rather than into a bunch, which I thought it was supposed to do??

3. My kale is also growing out and the stems seem to be breaking. I am not sure why? Does that mean I should pick the leaves? How should I cut the leaves off the kale to make sure they continue to grow?

THANKS SO MUCH TO ANYONE WHO CAN HELP GIVE ADVICE!!!

Comments (5)

• gldno1
    12 years ago

I don't garden in Arkansas but in southern Missouri so it is very similar to yours. Unfortunately I don't do much fall gardening so can't help with the individual questions.

Are you familiar with Arkansas University Extension service?

They should be very helpful. They will also have a link to the Master Gardeners you can call who should be helpful.

Here is a link that might be useful: Arkansas University Extension

• christie_sw_mo
    12 years ago

I do more flower gardening than veggie gardening so I can't answer your questions. Someone else may be able to, so be sure to check back in.
    I wanted to welcome you though! I'm glad you found the Ozarks Forum. Gardenweb has a Vegetable Gardening Forum too. You weren't wrong to ask your question here. I just thought you might want to check there also if you don't find what you need. Good luck with your new garden.