Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
helenh_gw

tomatoes

helenh
15 years ago

I still have tomatoes that I picked before frost. I think they are more acidic, but I am still eating them. I thought the little outdoor cat that I let come in once in a while had an accident. It was rotten tomatoes. I had to sort through them and unwrap the newspaper. Does anyone else have any? I am going to do this again next year. Sometimes by the end of the season, I'm sick of them.

Comments (11)

• gldno1
    15 years ago

I have never done that before. Each year, I mean to but never get around to it.

Would you believe the one night I didn't cover the lettuce , it got down to 24° and it didn't hurt the lettuce. Some may actually get to the rosette stage (buttercrunch).

• sweetwm007
    15 years ago

we have 3 left. think they are jet star. nothing like a tomato in december!
    william

• christie_sw_mo
    15 years ago

Helen - Did you wrap them individually in newspaper to store them? Where are you keeping them? When I was looking up info on onions, one of the storage methods was to wrap them indivually in newspapers and keep in the frig. One link said you couple keep them up to a year that way but that seems like a long time.
    If my garage wasn't already so full, I would love to have an extra frig out there.

I tried sun dried tomatoes for the first time this summer. They were in a boxed Macaroni Grill dinner from Wal-Mart. I expected them to taste like tomatoes and they really didn't. Raisins don't taste a anything like grapes so I shouldn't have been surprised. They were ok but I'd much rather have fresh tomatoes.

• helenh
    Original Author
    15 years ago