Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mission16

Breaking up new ground for garden

mission16
9 years ago

I am wanting to expand my garden in a couple of years and am looking for non-mechanical options to break up clay soil and add organic matter.
What is the best method and plant to use? I envision simply using a tiller or overseeder to break up the soil a little and planting something for a couple years.

Location is central Arkansas.

Comments (9)

• helenh
    9 years ago

I have no experience with breaking up clay soil but this place sells seeds. They are a family operation no online ordering and slow to get their catalog up. I order from them every year. Scroll down for the soil improvement things.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sand hill preservation

• sharbear50
    9 years ago

Is there such a thing as a non-mechanical way? I think the owners here, (we are renting) used a Maddox. It is hanging in the garage. Luckily they did all that grunt work, so there are some nice raised beds here.

• oldgardenguy_zone6
    9 years ago

Get out the Shovel , Double dig your bed to start dig it two shovels deep turning the top to the bottom adding any organic matter to the middle or you can dig a trench same depth and fill it with dead pcs of wood soft wood if possible like maple, cottonwood etc. hardwoods like oak or cedar take to long to break down fill it to the top then cover it back up and water it down plant any kind of cover crop the wood will rot in one season and the mound will shrink then dig it again to turn the cover crop in. this will really help with the hard clay.

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

am wanting to expand my garden in a couple of years and am looking for non-mechanical options to break up clay soil and add organic matter.