Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ajpa_gw

When will gardening start for you?

ajpa
15 years ago

Just wondering when everyone starts their gardening tasks?

Are you planting seedlings indoors now?

Are you buying seeds for outdoor planting now?

This is my first year to start a vegetable patch -- I have it laid out. I'm not brave enough to start seedlings indoors, so I will wait till I can plant outside. I wonder when that will be -- sometime in March, I guess (peas will be ok that eraly, right)?

Comments (23)

• stimpy926
    15 years ago

My tasks are year round. Pruning young trees yesterday. Chainsawing and hauling into a big pile a doz. of so large white pine branches felled during Dec. ice storm. Spraying repellant for deer (endless task) and rabbits. Chipping up small branches and perennial stalks piled from the summer (good winter work). Cutting down, burning the ornanmental grasses. And the continuing education courses at Longwood start up again in January, so I'll be doing another one later this month. I'm gardening in one way or another all year.

It's too early for starting the annuals and vegees now, wait til end of March (approx. 6 weeks before mid-May). If you have a spare flourecsent shop lite fixture, just find a way to suspend it over some plant cell packs, in such a way so you can adjust the height of it, as the plants grow. This is the only hard part. The light bulbs should be 4" away from the plants as they grow, set the lights to be on with a timer for 14 hours a day. It's very rewarding, even just seeing simple lettuce start. But don't bother with trying to start seeds on your windowsill, it will only dissapoint. Start small, build on success. Lettuce comes up in 4-5 days. Peas can be sown outside at St. Paddy's day, and better to sow direct as they don't transplant well. Other cool weather crops can be started then too, broccoli, spiniach, cilantro, scallions...