Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sewgreen_gw

Starting Seeds

sewgreen
17 years ago

Years ago I started 17-20 flats from seed each spring. I am ready to try a few this year. Just can't remember anymore what to start and when.

Has anybody started seeds yet for this year? What goes in first?

Comments (10)

• westhighlandblue
    17 years ago

I am a novice at starting seeds as well. I will share with you my experience, but I am very interested to hear the experiences of more seasoned seed starters.

I started seeds on Saturday, Feb. 17. By my calculations, if all goes well, the plants will be six weeks old and ready for transplanting on April 1. I started primarily hardy plants, marigolds, pentunias, violas, and impatients, but I also started a few less common plants as well. The seeds have begun germinating and now about 60% of the peat cups have tiny little two leaf plants.

I bought three of the $5 50 count pleat flats sold at Lowes. I filled each peat cup completely full of seed starter soil and then sprayed the flat down with the sprayer from my kitchen sink. The soil settled to a nice 2/3 level in each cup. I then sprinkled a few seeds into each cup, and mixed the soil a bit with my finger. I then covered the flats with their clear plastic covers, and put the flats on a southwest facing window sill that sits above a radiator. (I have deep window sills and a drafty old house.) I shift the clear plastic covers about, every day, so that the flats can breath a bit.

I am trying to safeguard against mold. I tried this once before, 43 years ago, when I was in the second grade. I remember mold. In a couple of weeks, if this first batch works, I'll probably start a another batch. Again, I welcome hints and help from others. And good luck to you!

• scrappyjack
    17 years ago