Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelleygirl1972

i need help.....

kelleygirl1972
15 years ago

I am a newbie gardener and I have a terrible lawn. My 'lawn' is mostly weeds that you would find growing in an unkempt field or within a small grove of trees. I also have a large 'wet' area that extends out from my back porch. My questions are many but I will start with just a few. How can I get a lush lawn with GRASS and what can I do about my 'swamp'? I appreciate any help that is provided.

Comments (5)

• llangrove
    15 years ago

If I were starting from scratch, like you seem to be, I would follow the grass care and maintenace plan by Jerry Baker. He uses alot of common ingredients that may sound off the wall, but he apparently gets good results. I bought one of his books and was going to try his technique but my husband thought I was crazy and called the local lawn service. I hate the idea of chemicals on my grass!!!

I've attached a link to Baker's web site.
    http://www.jerrybaker.com/index.asp?PageAction=Custom&ID=78

I would be interested in hearing from other listers who have tried some of Jerry Baker's methods!

• senko
    15 years ago

I sounds like, you have drainage problem.
    There are two choices: Fix it or live with it. To fix it, you may need a professional landscaper or a contractor come and look at it. It could be that you have a bad grading on your land. This could be solved by grading; putting soil at the low spots and making slope away from house towards the back of your property or wherever it can drain away. If that is not possible, they can dig a french drain. Your second option would be to put a raised bed and plant water loving plants like irises.

• topie
    15 years ago

Since you're starting from scratch, you have some interesting possibilities for your landscaping if you work in harmony with the natural tendencies of your yard. With some creative planning, you could create an attractive landscape composition that uses three elements: