Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
soccergirl3183

Interspacial Planting

soccergirl3183
13 years ago

Background:

So I'm relatively new at gardening. My family has always been heavily into it both in vegetables and flowers (hence, the next generation), and I always hated the slimy things in the dirt and had no interest - you'd swear I was adopted if I didn't look like them. Well 3 years ago I started to spend more time with my fiance at his house. He bought it from his family after his grandmother had been moved into a nursing home in her 90s. And since he has a serious aversion to weeds, he covered everything except a few of the larger plants with weed barrier and put stone on top. That was a few years before I met him. By that time, his daylilies were being choked to death by years of dead foliage, the rest of the plants were dead, and he had a serious slug infestation thanks to all the moist decaying plant life on those lilies...I am STILL waging war against the little buggers every year...

So that's where I came in. I figured the poor plants should at least be rescued, and that the seriously spartan house on the block could look quite charming with a few additional plants making it look lived in. So I bought a couple things that looked cute at Lowes and Home Depot and put them in the ground. Sure enough, the neighbors all stopped by to say how wonderful things looked and how pleased they were that this poor house wasn't vacant anymore... yup... they thought it was vacant... the fiance isn't a social butterfly and the driveway is in the back of the house so... yeah...