Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dianna_kerr

Writing a paper and need input!!

I am studying Horticulture. For my trees class I need to discuss 10 trees that are gaining popularity in PA and 20 that have fallen out of favor and why.

I was hoping someone could think of at least a few. My mind is a blank.
The only one's I can think of that are over planted here where I live are Bradford Pear, Crepe Myrtle, and that's all I got......
Please? Any thoughts at all would be greatly appreciated!!

Comments (7)

• stimpy926
    11 years ago

White Pine, Pinus strobus. Should be used as a temporary screen, but many times left in place, getting bare on the bottom, branches breaking in snow and ice

Acer platanoides, Norway Maple. Thick surface roots and dense canopy make growing anything nearby or underneath impossible. Non native

Ditto for Silver maple...is native. One in ten will fall during storms.

Here is a link that might be useful: More

• dedtired
    11 years ago

Certain species of Dogwoods do not do well and are dying off. The Kousa Dogwood is growing more popular as it is not affected by anthracnose. Arborvitae is overplanted. It seems all new construction has arborvitae, I suppose because they grow fast but they also get overgrown fast.

• luseal
    11 years ago