Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scully931

Side yard disaster. Looking for advice.

scully931
17 years ago

Hi,

Sorry I am always ASKING questions instead of answering. Anyway, I am just beginning to landscape the house I bought last October. The backyard is great - easy to pull up grass, nice fertile looking soil. So, after seeing that at the end of fall, I got excited and ordered a ton of plants for my side yard as well! They began arriving last week, so I put out a bunch in the backyard then headed down to the side yard. Ugh. It seems as though there might have been a house there at one point or something. I keep hitting what feels like stone or a foundation or something about six to eight inches below the very hard grass. When I pull up the grass there is not much dirt to shake off. I did, however, see a lot of earthworms, so I guess that is good.

My question is, do you think it would work to buy garden soil, dig as far as I can, then build mounds for my plants and small trees? Honestly, I can't afford to have someone redo the whole side yard or spend a lot on renting equiptment, etc. I would have to fix it by hand by myself. Or, should I just forget trying to plant there? Any advice or ideas would be most appreciated! I was so hoping to turn it into a nice tropical looking area. Thank you so much!

~Deborah =-)

Comments (4)

• Pipersville_Carol
    17 years ago

Raised beds could be a solution, especially for perennials and small shrubs. You build low walls to create a large planter and fill it with soil. I made a nice raised bed out of concrete rubble once. Don't make the beds too big, though, it takes an amazing amount of soil to fill them. Do an internet search on "raised beds", you'll find good instructions.

To plant trees, though, you'll need to dig out the soil and figure out what's under there. Trees need plenty of root room and soil depth so they can anchor themselves and not fall over onto your house.