Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
portia_gw

First year PA gardener, rose care?

portia
10 years ago

Hello, relocated to PA last year from CA where I've been growing roses for 15+ years--just settling into our new house in the Garnet Valley/Brandywine area.

Biggest differences here besides the obvious cold/winter/seasons is that we get a LOT more rain than in CA and the humidity. I'm used to gardening in a drier climate.

How will the constant rain affect roses? Will I potentially see more blackspot or fungus? Should I plant in even sunnier areas to help counteract the moisture?

and overall would love some tips on what should I be doing here in my garden to help my roses thrive? In CA, it was kind of 'set and forget' where I just had to toss some oscomote onto them once a year, make sure the sprinklers were going regularly, wait for blooms and deadhead.

Oh and we have deer...another thing I am completely unfamiliar with (but I'm reading up!).

thanks in advance!

Comments (7)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    10 years ago

Portia, the rain won't be a problem. However, blackspot will be, depending on the varieties that you plant. Contact one of the Consulting Rosarians from the Philadelphia Rose Society, they will be able to give specific answers to your questions. Also, the Philadelphia Rose Society rose show is on June 1 at the Morris Arboretum, and the Del-Chester Rose Society's show is June 14th at Longwood Gardens. Stop by, and you'll see a wide range of roses grown in the area, and be able to talk to the growers.

This post was edited by diane_nj on Tue, Jun 3, 14 at 17:22

• portia
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Oh fantastic, we are right near Longwood, I didn't realize they have a rose show! Thanks!

• bulldinkie
    9 years ago

I always heard you are to plant a banana peel in the ground with the rose bush.I also use a container its fertilizer and something to keep bugs in both in 1 bottle.

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    9 years ago