Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lawncheney

What can I do now?

lawncheney
16 years ago

This is my first year and I know I'm getting a late start... I'm doing some square foot gardening and bought the following seeds:

White onion sets

Radishes

Lettuce, Buttercrunch

Lettuce, Iceberg

Garden Bean, Kentucky Wonder

Canteloupe, Iroquois

Cucumber, Muncher

Watermelon, Sugar Baby

Pea, Alaska

Pumpkin, Jack O' Lantern

There may be more, I haven't decided yet.

What of these should I plant outside ASAP? I'm assuming the onions, radishes, and lettuce. Should I start the rest inside right now, or is it so late that I should just wait and start the seeds outside?

I'm planning on buying my tomato/pepper plants instead of starting them from seed.

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• ghoghunter
    16 years ago

Where in Pa are you? It's big state. I live near Philly and I would wait on the melons/cukes and pumpkins until mid May just to be on the safe side. It depends on where you are though if you need to wait until Memorial Day for the tender stuff. You could direct seed or plant the seeds now in little pots of cups and have them start out side if you can protect them if there is a cold spell.

• User
    16 years ago

I would hustle the peas out there, too. I started my beans inside by soaking and them popping them into pots for a few weeks. I live in SE PA, too, and I usually plant on Mother's Day weekend.

I got carried away this week and bought tomato, pepper, and eggplant transplants. I know I am pushing it - but I only spent about three dollars (45 cents per plant), so I will take the gamble. I also bought celery and parsley transplants, and some more potato sets, but I am not worried about putting them out too early.

• lawncheney
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I live a bit north of Pittsburgh.