Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peskymac

Nurseries in Delaware County?

peskymac
19 years ago

I'm new to Delaware County -- I'm in Aldan. I'd rather support small nurseries instead of giant places like Home Depot, so I'm looking for some great local nurseries. Specifically, places that sell vegetable plants.

Any ideas?

Comments (13)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    19 years ago

I go to several there, thanks to one of my sisters who lives in Delco.

Try Styers in Concordville and Waterloo Gardens in Devon and Exton. I haven't been to the Exton location but sis promised that we would try to get there at some point this year, as she hasn't been there yet either.

• carol23_gw
    19 years ago

Rebud Native Plant Nursery http://www.redbudnativeplantnursery.com/, Mostardi's Nursery http://www.mostardi.com/ are well worth the trip.

• Kathy46
    19 years ago

countryside nursery on rt 40 in bear Delaware has great slection and pond suplies. A little pricey but you will find everything there.

Kathy

• hannah
    19 years ago

Main Line Gardens!
    It's the best!!!!! âº

• GrandmaCarol
    19 years ago

Well, I left Delaware County (Drexel Hill) about 7 years ago. BUT, if they are still there, there is/was a place called Hillside Nursery located on Baltimore Pike in Clifton Heights that I liked a lot. They are/were well stocked, knowlegeable and moderately priced.

• debbies_cockatiels_2
    12 years ago

I live in Secane now and Hillside Nursery located on Baltimore Pike in Clifton Heights is still
    there and still open... 8-12-11.

• katofpa
    12 years ago

Yes, Redbud sells native plants, but it is very alternative. Styers and Waterloo are pricey, so I wait for their sales, but their plants are varied and healthy. Tyler Aboretum has a nice spring plant sale with the bonus of free admission.

Here is a link that might be useful: Tyler Arboretum

• portia
    10 years ago

Revisiting this old thread, anyone have anything new to contribute on must-visits?