Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
piedpiper_gw

Gardening mistakes

piedpiper
16 years ago

Hi, Could not sleep so I'm spending my (very early) morning on the forum. I was reading an older thread about dumb gardening mistakes and I thought I'd start a new one. I found DH on the internet and moved down to Western PA. He was a gardener by trade and I'm a gardener by compulsion so it is a great match.

We spent years looking for the perfect place with good soil, 5 acres and a nice house that we could afford. Finally got deparate and bought a place with dirt, 1 acre and a house, on top of a hill. Learned a few things at this place:

1. Good soil is not found on top of a hill. Our clay soil only turned to dirt yesterday. You can only tell the difference between the clay and the rocks by stabbing at it with a shovel.

2. You can get poison ivy in March. At 47, I never had it before but for the last two years I've been the first case of the year for poison ivy my Dr. has seen.

3. Never buy a place from a guy that owned a body shop. I was out picking veggies from our raised beds (had to raise them with all the clay) when a older guy that grew up here stopped by. He motioned to the side yard where the raised beds are and said that his dad, a body shop owner, had filled that whole area with fill and junk. That explains the pieces of metal we pulled out of there. Later, when we removed the brambles from the edges of the property we found some sort of metal trailer sticking out of the hill. We now have added a "metal for recycling" pile next to the compost pile and rock pile. There are more car parts sticking out of the back hill. DH hopes someday to find a complete car. A model T or Studebaker would be nice.

Comments (12)

• floragal
    16 years ago

I think I've made more garden mistakes than I can remember, but the classics: