Return to the Pennsylvania Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
To fence ..... or not to fence

Posted by PAgrower z6 PA (My Page) on
Tue, May 10, 05 at 9:37

This is my first year with a vegetable garden. Most of the neighbors DO NOT have fencing around their veggie plants, but some do. I know we have no shortage of rabbits in the neighborhood. Should I fence or not? Do the rabbits bother only certain plants? Any input would be appreciated. Jim

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: To fence ..... or not to fence

plant extra for the rabbits,deer, etc. Many things work to a degree but I have not found anything that is actualy fully effective and cost effective. Don't forget a few flowers for the humming birds and maybe even a sunflower or two just to fun of it.

o

Unless you can seriously drive your fence into the ground several inches at least, rabbits will burrow underneath. Deer require a fence at least seven feet high, or else they'll jump it with relative ease. Forgive me for doing this to you, but between rabbits and deer, vegetable gardening in a lot of PA neighborhoods is really pointless. We've lost a ton of stuff. Last year, for the very first time, deer even ate our tomato plants. Sorry...

o

My vegetable garden which is 40x35 is fenced in because i like the way it looks.Last year a rabbit burrowed under and made a nest under my pumpkins and soon there were bunnies all over the place. Not much was eaten though. I can only speak for myself lbut the rabbits only chew on the new shoots and leave the older things alone so at night i cover up the young plants with pots and in the morning take them off. When they are a little older,I just leave them uncovered. Rabbits have never eaten my beans,tomatoes,peppers,celery,or lettuces. The deer can't get in because of the fence and the raccoons always eat the corn so I gave up on that. Try a garden this year without the fence and see what happens..you'll lose some things and others you won't. Good luck .

o