Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hippychik_gw

New to gardening and need guidance

hippychik
15 years ago

Hi,

I live in the Poconos and I'm pretty new to gardening. I'd like to plant flowers in a sunny area of our yard but am looking for guidance on two things:

1. Is it too late to plant now?

2. What flowering plants would thrive and are not so attractive to deer?

My apologies if any of these have been answered before. I did do a search but didn't come up with much.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (5)

• gigisgarden
    15 years ago

1. No, it's not too late the last frost date for most of PA is in May. For the Poconos it is probably the end of May.

2. There is a post about that on this page if you haven't checked it out already. Deer will eat just about anything if they are hungry. A friend of mine planted a group of plants she didn't care about that she knows deer love on another part of her property to draw the deer away from her garden. She then put bars of Irish Spring soap around her "good" garden where she has lots of Hosta aka deer candy. According to her it works well, and she lives out in the woods where there are loads of deer.

Good luck

• eibren
    15 years ago

An easy way to start is to buy a few large all-season plant pots on sale and just do annuals for awhile. Annuals will flower all summer and do well for you. Petunias are especially good in sunny areas.

Behind the plant pots, if you have them in a row, you could plant three or four tomato plants. You might not get many tomatoes, depending on how thoroughly you prepare the soil, but tomatoes are good soil preparation for other things to come in subsequent years. If you are removing lawn for your flowers, there are sometimes nematodes in the soil that are harmful until the soil has been tilled for a season or two.

Slightly raised flower beds are easier to have success with in PA, possibly because it is so easy for plants to drown in the heavy clay soil in spring and fall.