Return to the Pennsylvania Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to completely eliminate a lawn?

Posted by Janebeth Philadelphia (My Page) on
Sat, May 19, 12 at 10:39

I need some advice on how to completely eliminate my "lawn." I have a small (20' x 30') urban backyard that was neglected for a number of years before we moved in. Any grass that was once there has now been completely choked out by spearmint and wild violets. I'd like to kill those off completely (well, maybe keeping some of the violets) and either put down flagstone or a sturdy groundcover that will hold up to kids playing on it.

Any advice for how to get rid of what's there? Pull it all out by hand? Smother it with black plastic? Act like it's grass and rent a turf cutter? I've always been an apartment dweller and am a total novice when it comes to (what seems to me) large flat areas...

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to completely eliminate a lawn?

Do you have a mower? If you do have one then mowing the spearmint and violets may give you the hardy ground cover you are looking for. What doesn't die will grow back shorter and you'll eventually get something presentable.

If you have no mower or dont want to deal with mowing then the best bet will be to spray roundup to get rid of what's there. You could smother it with plastic but that will take a couple weeks (no big deal if you have the time), hand weeding might be more work than you're looking for.

Flagstone would be real nice but costly, cheaper might be pea gravel (softer for kids playing too) a compromise could be a small flagstone area surrounded by pea stone.

I could go on about plant choices but a better idea of what your're planning would be the next step.

o

Thanks for the reply, kato! Your questions are so helpful in making me think more about this.