Return to the Pennsylvania Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Steep slope with Poison Ivy problem

Posted by jefnifnerf PA (My Page) on
Sat, May 16, 09 at 13:45

I am a newbie gardener, and I have a very problematic steep slope in my front yard. It is planted with what I believe is pachysandra and vinca minor vines. However, the entire slope is overrun with poison ivy and other invasive weeds. For years we have tried pulling out the poison, but it comes back no matter what we do. We're now thinking of tearing out everything that's planted there and starting over.

Does anyone have advice? Is there some way we could save the groundcover plants and just get rid of all the poison ivy? Or if we do tear everything out, is there a groundcover plant that wouldn't be as easily overrun?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Steep slope with Poison Ivy problem

I had a poison ivy problem when I moved into my home, and I used Brush B Gone to kill it. I live on a hill, too, and used a lot of grasses to stabilize my back slope, and then planted sedum as a ground cover. I hired a landscape architect to give me a plan for my front slope, and she recommended grasses and shrubs, and then vinca minor for a ground cover. You might want to work on just part of your slope at a time (depending how big it is) so that the whole thing doesn't de-stabilize and wash away. Good luck.

o
RE: Steep slope with Poison Ivy problem

If the area is large, I agree with melissas that you may want to try working on the slope in sections to ensure stability of the slope. This will also make the weed/poison ivy eradication job less overwhelming, and you won't end up with a large bare area of ground to fill in.

If the slope is not extremely steep, you might consider starting a rock garden, or terraced type of garden in this area. This will allow easier access to the slope for you so you can weed out any unwanted plants/weeds that may find their way in.