Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lpinkmountain

Old rose source in NE Pa.?

lpinkmountain
16 years ago

I would like to buy a shrub rose, either a small rugosa, or and old rose, Blanc Double de Coubert. Does anyone know of a place I can get something other than run-of-the-mill roses, near Allentown? Even Philly or the Poconos or across the river in New Jersey or even eastern Harrisburg would be a possibility. I'd rather not mail order at this time of the year.

Comments (4)

• jeannek_NEPA
    16 years ago

I have no experience with roses or buying roses!
    That said, I checked Garden Watchdog for roses in PA. Only 1 place came up (you could search other states), and they have all positive reviews. You can visit by appointment, according to their website. Something to look at until the real rose people come in, LOL.

Jeanne

Here is a link that might be useful: The scoop on 'Moore's Roses'

• eibren
    16 years ago

Do you have clay soil there, and less than full sun?

I have had a lot of luck with Hansa, which is a rugosa but can get fairly large and gawky. However, it does well in less-than-ideal conditions, and is wonderfully fragrant. I'm sure it could be kept smaller by pruning. I never tried to prune it very hard because it was in such an unfavorable location.

It's the only rugosa I've had any luck with. I never had to spray it--very healthy-- (and spraying kills rugosas, anyway, they say). It overwintered for years for me until it was totally shaded out by a tree. I tried a small yellow one once, and also the purple "pavement" one, in conditions not much worse than the one that Hansa had to deal with, but they both quickly expired. I think most rugosas prefer soil with more sand than is in most PA locations...in my location, at least. It had OK drainage in my yard, due to a very slight sloping of about 1 foot per ten feet in that part of the yard, and received sun from the Southwest in the afternoons.