Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
windsor224

Dead Butterfly Bushes

windsor224
9 years ago

I've been growing butterfly bushes in PA zone 6 for the last 7 years and this is the first year that I have no signs of life on the branches in May. Has anyone else noticed that their bushes look dead?

Comments (9)

• debo_2006
    9 years ago

Ours have been quite hardy for 8 years or so, until now. They died. We thought maybe we cut them back too soon last year, but, upon checking out another neighborhood home that has/had these bushes for many years, hers were dead as well.

Today I visited a Gardens Center and asked one of the horticulturist about them and he said so many people have experienced the same. Apparently, the very cold winter with all the constant precip was the culprit, as you probably suspected.

• sujiwan_gw 6b MD/PA
    9 years ago

Butterfly bushes (davidii) are supposed to be hardy to zone 5. They may die back to the ground. Mine looked dead as well when I cut them back severaly. But, I'm noticing tiny green leaves emerging low to the ground. Watch and wait.

• poaky1
    9 years ago

Mine are dead looking also. Even my Russian sage look dead. If they are really from Russia, and they are dead, WTF? Mine has (butterfly bush) been in my yard for 3 years, at the least. My American Beech is just starting to put out leaves, though. And the tree is from the local woods. It has swollen buds, no leaves quite out yet. So IOW, those butterfly bushes (and my Russ. sage) may not be dead just yet.

• windsor224
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I did notice that the only signs of life are at the ground so yesterday I cut all of my butterfly bushes to the ground. So disappointing but I see that I am not the only one. Now I'm worried about the crape myrtles that also look dead. I know they leaf out much later but this year I'm starting to see a little leafing at the ground level just like the BF bushes. Is anyone else concerned about your crape myrtles?