Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blutarski_gw

Should I dead head my lupines?

blutarski
14 years ago

My lupines are blooming beautifully. I've never grown them before, should I cut the flower stalk off when the flowers are done?

Comments (13)

• stimpy926
    14 years ago

Perennial lupines are actually biennials, they'll die after blooming. Save the seed from the blooms, they're pretty to easy to grow.

Here is a link that might be useful: link

• alisande
    14 years ago

I've been growing lupines for 30 years, and this is the first I've heard of them being biennial. After reading Paula's comment, I learned that there doesn't seem to be a clear consensus on the issue.

I can tell you two things: One, I've read over and over that the seed stalks should be cut after blooming. And two, my lupines have never died after blooming. Typically, they produce a small plant with a few small blooms the first year. The following year, the plant is much bigger, with lots of big blooms. How long this larger plant lives varies, but I've had them live for many years at a good size. The chances that they're reseeding are slim, because I cut off the stalks after blooming.

Susan

• karen_b
    14 years ago

Susan I've noticed that with my columbine, if I dead head them the plant will last several years. But if I let it go to seed the mother plant doesn't come back next year. I think it's because the mother plant puts all of its energy into producing the seeds and not into its roots. IMHO I'm going to deadhead my lupine. Thanks

• stimpy926
    14 years ago

I think zoning is a factor. Zone 6, possibly 7, when I grew them a few years ago, can be too warm for them. I just remember the whole plant dying spontaneously right after bloom. Perhaps in the right spot though....

Here is a link that might be useful: other conversation

• PRO
    Kestrel Shutters & Doors
    14 years ago