Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diykestrel

Nocturnal Morning Glories?

We have some beautiful deep blue morning glories that came with the house we bought in 2002. They are definitely invasive but I have managed to keep them fairly under control.

This year I noticed that some of the vines are putting out flowers that are closer to a magenta color and these seem to last longer than the blues. Lately I've noticed that they are blooming all day and the other night I noticed some still wide open around 9 at night?

Is this a normal for cooler weather or just some random mutation? Should I be collecting these seeds and selling them to the highest bidder? lol

Makes me wonder what will happen next year.

Thanks,

Jim

Comments (9)

• ultragirl6
    17 years ago

I don' t have an answer but I am curious too so please answer Jim's question! I am fairly new to PA (since '02) and morning gloreis as well. Good to know that they are invasive here in z6 as want them to be! I'd much rather prefer they come back every year instead of haivng to replant them. They've looked gorgeous all summer along our deck railing. But I do have a question: is it worth getting the seeds from the ones that froze over the weekend? Will they grow next year? And if so, when should I plant them - now in the fall or in spring?

Laura

• Pipersville_Carol
    17 years ago

Maybe the night-blooming morning glories are actually Moonflowers. I think they look similar to morning glories, but bloom at night.

• luvsgrtdanes
    17 years ago

Hi Jim, sounds like you have ipomoea nil. A Japanese type morning glory. (the common one) When it starts to get cool the pink pigment comes out. Mine are still in full bloom and open all day!! I love them.

{{gwi:1111795}}

• PRO
    Kestrel Shutters & Doors
    Original Author
    17 years ago

That's them! I wonder why they didn't turn that pink color in the last years. maybe a combination of temperature and rain and other "stuff".