Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marilyn_22

Sago Palm freeze

marilyn_22
17 years ago

I am new to the Richmond Hill, GA area. The house had two sago palms planted and we had a freeze. I have no idea what to do with them. Do I cut the leaves off or are they a total lost? Also, can anyone tell me when to do planting here?

Comments (8)

• wingo_43
    17 years ago

marilyn,

From what I saw on the web, Richmond Hill looks likes a very nice community. Being along the coast and not far from Savannah, you're in an ideal spot to grow all sorts of things! Check an Arbor Day or USDA zone map site for recommended planting times...generally after the danger of the last frost has passed.

As for your sagos, if just the foliage got burned, the plants will probably bounce back this spring. Try and protect them from any additional freeze damage. The vital part of a sago is the bulb-like base. If this is ok, the plant will make it. You should see new shoots or fronds growing from the bulb when it warms up. I wouldn't take off any leaves unless I was absolutely certain they were dead (turning brown, brittle).

The El Nino effect has died out in the Pacific, so we're getting back to normal winter-like conditions here in the South. Predicted lows for much of north Georgia are expected to be in the 20's tonight...I'm guessing mid to low 30's for your area. If the sagos are planted outdoors, the very least I would do is mulch around the bulbs.

• bradleyo_gw
    17 years ago

A poster on another board from Indiana has had sagos for several years, I believe, and there are several others in much colder areas whose sagos defoliate every year. Do not remove them, I'm sure they'll be fine.

• asperinocala
    17 years ago

I had a newly planted sago lose all folliage and turn yellow last year because of a freeze.

Cut off the dead leaves and keep it watered on warm days. It will come back as mine did.

• guapogardener
    17 years ago