Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lenarufus

cycad identification

lenarufus
10 years ago

Can anyone help identify this plant? We've been here for 10 years & this is the first time it's got a cone. Living in the inner west, Sydney Australia
thanks

Comments (9)

• mimalf
    10 years ago

Looks like a Macrozamia to me. But I'm no expert, faaaar from that.

You can find experts here though. And there are several Aussies there too. :)

http://cycadfriends.co.za/index.php

You can post in the specific forum for Cycads ID here: http://cycadfriends.co.za/viewforum.php?f=31

Here is a link that might be useful: Cycadfriends

This post was edited by SagoLover on Fri, Jan 24, 14 at 21:54

• plantsman56
    10 years ago

That is a Lepidozamia peroffskyana. It could also be a hopei but they have wider leaflets, and from what I can tell on this small screen, they look too thin in the picture. Nice plant, they are fairly cold hardy here in central Florida, and don't even get leaf damage until it gets lower than 23 f. 17 f burnt the leaves but didn't burn the stems. Gets to be about 15 feet across and nothing on the plant is spiny or sharp.

• tropicbreezent
    10 years ago

I agree, it does look like Lepidozamia peroffskyana, with a female cone. They're native to SE Qld and NE NSW.

• lenarufus
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Great, thanks a lot - I googled the name and from the pictures online it definitely looks like Lepidozamia peroffskyana. I was surprised to see it develops a stem, this one must be at least 15 years old so does anyone know how long it might take to get a trunk? I've got a feeling I'll be long gone by then!
    I've never fertilised it but it gets a lot of leaf mulch from the gum trees above. I read that it likes fertiliser so just gave it some native slow release & threw a bit of cow manure around, also sprayed it with pest oil as it has a bit of scale.
    But as I have never pampered it I'd better not kill it with kindness.

• tropicbreezent