Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
the_gardener_gw

Sago Palm Growth

the_gardener
14 years ago

Forgive me for my basic questions as I'm new to gardening. I know sago palms grow really slow, but I think I read somewhere that the growth can be triggered but don't know how, can anybody here tell me how to make these palms grow fast?

Comments (33)

• butiaman
    14 years ago

Is it in a pot or in the ground?

• User
    14 years ago

Sagos tend to grow in annual spurts. A good number of the growers on this forum either grow these outside (where hardy) to put them out seasonally (mine for example are out from early March until some time in December). The outdoor triggers are easy (heat plus sun and a bit of fertilizer). Cycas revoluta (Sago palm) is not the easiest cycad if you are going to grow it as 100% indoor plant.--Sagos really enjoy life outdoors (even if only seasonal). Good luck!

• jimhardy
    14 years ago

Not sure where your located but the best time to encourage growth would be late May when it is warm outside,so I guess you would need to put them outside.
    (-;
    I have made mine flush by putting lawn fertilizer on it,usually works in less than a week.
    In the link I say to be careful with the lawn-fert but the next year I bombed it like 3-4 times with it(flush or die!),it flushed,Sagos are pretty tough!
    Here is a thread I posted on it back in the day(-:

Here is a link that might be useful: Sago flushing

• tropicalzone7
    14 years ago

Lawn fertilizer... Good Idea jim. Thats really high in nitrogen and must work really well as a last resort for growth. I wonder how good it is for normal heathy palms?

• the_gardener
    Original Author
    14 years ago

butiaman: It is in the pot.

njoasis: Thanks for the suggestions, I have placed it outdoors. Anything else I should do?

butiaman: Thanks, some great tips. That was helpful.

jimhardy: Thank you for that helpful thread. Your sago look cool in the pictures.

• jimhardy
    14 years ago