Return to the Palms & Cycads Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sago Palm Growth

Posted by the_gardener (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 23, 10 at 0:34

Forgive me for my basic questions as I'm new to gardening. I know sago palms grow really slow, but I think I read somewhere that the growth can be triggered but don't know how, can anybody here tell me how to make these palms grow fast?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sago Palm Growth

• Posted by butiaman 7b Douglasville,GA. (My Page) on
    Tue, Mar 23, 10 at 10:01

Is it in a pot or in the ground?

o

Sagos tend to grow in annual spurts. A good number of the growers on this forum either grow these outside (where hardy) to put them out seasonally (mine for example are out from early March until some time in December). The outdoor triggers are easy (heat plus sun and a bit of fertilizer). Cycas revoluta (Sago palm) is not the easiest cycad if you are going to grow it as 100% indoor plant.--Sagos really enjoy life outdoors (even if only seasonal). Good luck!

o

Tue, Mar 23, 10 at 19:57