Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mastiffhoo

Hardy Citrus

mastiffhoo
12 years ago

So, this weekend I took a quick glance outside and noticed that my hardy citrus was covered with flowers. This is very exciting for me. I am sure it is due to the mild winter, but in 4 years I have never been close to having this many blooms.

If your are curious as to what citrus I am referring to, look up Pungo Palms - this is where I got them.

I will take pics when I get a chance.

Comments (12)

• tropicalzone7
    12 years ago

Nice! Is it only 4 years old? I really like hardy citrus and maybe I'll give them a try. Definitely take some pics when you can. I'd love to see how tall it is and how many blooms it has!
    -Alex

• mastiffhoo
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hey Alex,
    Will do on the pics - I'm a school teacher (special ed) and this is a busy time of the year for me - so I will do it ASAP.

I can't imagine they are much older than 4 - when I got them, they were very small. As a matter of fact, one was so small i accidentally ran over it with my mower - I was very upset! Naturally, that one is much smaller than the other...

Brian

• wetsuiter
    12 years ago

Is this the very thorny type of citrus they often use as root stock?

• tropicalzone7
    12 years ago

I saw the pic! Its a really nice sized plant and looks great with blooms. Thanks for taking the time to post a pic.
    And wetsuiter, Im not sure if its used as rootstock (I dont think it used as a rootstock often, but it probably could be). It is very thorny, probably the most thorny citrus out there! (is it still considered a citrus or is it part of its own family now?)
    -Alex

• wetsuiter
    12 years ago