Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marciem_gw

Is it possible to transplant a LARGE Sago Palm ?

marciem
14 years ago

We have a home with a big sago that was here when we bought our So. CA home many years ago. I love Sagos but this was planted in the wrong place, right next to a walk way to our front door, and we can only let it fronds grow straight up.

It has a base (touching the ground) of approximately 6 ft. circumference with 3 trunks (each about 6ft. tall) coming out of this base. The total height including fronds is approx. 10 ft. tall. I'm guessing this Sago Palm is approximately 30 years old.

I'd love to keep it if it could be transplanted as I know how $$$ this tree would be. Is it possible to transplant? Any ball park price as to how much it would cost to transplant? Is there a market to sell this, maybe Craig's List ? I'm a novice gardener and don't know what to do. I'm happy to post a photo if it is possible or I can email a photo. Thank you for any suggestions. Marcie

Comments (13)

• siegel2
    14 years ago

Sago "Palms" (they are cycads, not palm trees) are easy to transplant. I'm a landscaper and have transplanted many of them and never lost a one.

The big one you have probably needs to be moved with a crane because of the weight of the root ball. Hire someone who knows what they are doing to do the work.

As far as value goes, craigslist has many of them for sale and they don't seem to move very quickly. They are quite common even rather large ones.

• tropicalzone7
    14 years ago

They are expenisive, and in demand, but there is more supply then demand. As for transplanting I agree, its pretty easy, but it will require a crane if its heavy. Just cut all the laves off when it reaches its new place and it will slowly grow a new flush as it becomes established.

• marciem
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you for your responses. I appreciate them.

• stevelaura_UCLAlumni_net
    13 years ago